Skip to main content
may 1, 2024 at 8pm

Utah Governor's Mansion Artist Awards Livestream 2024

PBS Utah would like to invite you to step into the Governor’s Mansion and celebrate live as two Utah artists are awarded the Governor’s Mansion Artist Awards. Among this year's winners are violinist Aubree Oliverson and artist Joe Ostraff. Join us on May 1st from 8:00 - 9:00 p.m. to explore the exceptional contribution of these two artists to Utah.


  • Musician Aubree Oliverson is a violin soloist committed to performing beloved classics and bringing lesser-known pieces to the spotlight. She has been recognized with multiple awards, and recently named the 2023 Francis Rosen Prize recipient at the Colburn Conservatory. Oliverson believes in the importance of music education from a young age, and encourages children to participate in music by speaking at schools and national conventions.
  • Joe Ostraff is a visual artist and is currently an assistant professor at Brigham Young University, teaching drawing, painting, and advanced studio cources. He has been awarded the prestigious Fellowship Award from the Utah Arts Council three times. Ostraff's solo works and collaborations with other artists have been in multiple exhibitions across the US and abroad.

2023 Awards Recipients

Among this year's winners are visual artists Ben Steele and Jeff Hein, along with musicians Joel Rosenberg, Dr. Yu-Jane Yang, and Marshall McDonald. Join PBS Utah in the celebration as we explore the exceptional contributions of these talented individuals to Utah's creative landscape

Artist Ben Steele graduated from the University of Utah in 2002 and continued his education under David Dornan and Paul Davis. His work is featured in personal and corporate collections, including figures like Kelly Ripa, Mark Consuelos, and Steve Carell. Steele's art combines classical techniques with a contemporary touch, resulting in a portfolio of still life, portraiture, and landscapes.

Joel Rosenberg is an accomplished violist and the Music Director of the American West Symphony and other Utah ensembles. The Juilliard graduate has conducted worldwide, including the Elizabethan Philharmonic and Orchestra of Victoria at the Sydney Opera House, the Elbland Philharmonic in Germany, and other performances with renowned artists like Leon Fleisher. 

Jeff Hein is an artist based in Salt Lake City with a passion for handmade items. He began studying drawing in 1992. His work has been featured in magazines such as “American Art Collector” and exhibited in prestigious locations such as the Utah Museum of Fine Art. He values a pure and intimate relationship with his subject matter and sees each painting as a personal record of his experience.

Dr. Yu-Jane Yang is a renowned pianist and director of Keyboard Studies at Weber State University. She has been recognized with prestigious awards, has conducted master classes worldwide, judged piano competitions, and mentored award-winning students who have secured scholarships at esteemed music schools. Her commitment to education is evident through the achievements of her students.

Marshall McDonald is a multi-talented musician with a unique style that combines classical, inspirational, film score, and new-age genres. His film scores and symphonies have been performed internationally, including by the China Philharmonic Orchestra. He has diverse experiences, from performing as a hand double pianist on television to being a guest soloist with the Tabernacle Choir.

2022 Awards Recipients

2022 Governor’s Mansion Artist Awards Recipients:

Clytie Adams, dance teacher, founder of the Clytie Adams School of Ballet 
Paige Crosland Anderson, abstract artist  
Dr. Richard Elliot, principal organist, Tabernacle Choir 
Maricia Price, arts supporter and philanthropist 
Paisley Rekdal, Utah Poet Laureate, professor 
Leroy Transfield, sculptor 
Carrie Trenholm, fused glass visual artist, educator 

2021 Awards Recipients

Season 1 Episode 1

V. Kim Martinez & Jack Ashton

Meet muralist V. Kim Martinez and former Utah Symphony violinist Jack Ashton.

Season 1 Episode 2

Good Company Theatre & Fidalis Buehler

Meet painter Fidalis Buehler and the Washington sisters from Ogden's Good Company Theatre.

Season 1 Episode 3

Ta’u Pupu’a, Diane Stewart & Elsie Holiday

Meet basket weaver Elsie Holiday, opera tenor Ta'u Pupu'a & gallery owner Diane Stewart.

About this Series


A little-known part of the state’s history, Utah Governor’s Mansion Artist Awards series has honored Utah’s visual, performing, and culinary artists at the historic Utah Governor’s Mansion since its inception in the late 1930s. 

Originally conceived by Governor Henry H. Blood — who was purportedly looking to raise funds to secure a piano for the mansion — the artist awards have been upheld by Governors Michael Leavitt, Olene S. Walker, Jon M. Huntsman, Jr., Gary R. Herbert, and Spencer J. Cox. The series traditionally features three events per year and serves as a fundraiser for the historic Governor’s Mansion. 

With a glimpse into each artist’s inspiration and creative process, this limited series highlights Utah’s rich history of art and artists, and the incredible depth of the state’s creative talent. 

Section Header

This series is made possible in part by:

Filer image
Filer image
Filer image
Filer image